Conferences

Symposia Chairs and Committee Representatives


Globecom 2015 (San Diego, CA, USA) 6–10 December 2015
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Octavia Dobre

Memorial University
Newfoundland & Labrador, Canada
odobre@mun.ca
Xiang Cheng
Peking University

Beijing, China

xiangcheng@pku.edu.cn
Kausik Chakraborty
Qualcomm
San Diego, CA, USA


ICC 2015 (London, England, UK) 8–12 June 2015
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Tony Quek
Singapore University Technol. Design
Singapore

tonyquek@sutd.edu.sg
Meixia Tao
Shanghai Jiao Tong Univ.
China

mxtao@ieee.org
Kim Haesik
VTT Technical Research Centre
Finland


Globecom 2014 (Austin, TX, USA) 8–12 December 2014
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Kaibin Huang
Hong Kong Polytechnic Univiversity
China

huangkb@eee.hku.hk
P. Y. Kam
Nation Univ. of Singapore
Singapore
elekampy@nus.edu.sg

Sennur Ulukus
University of Maryland
USA
ulukus@umd.edu


ICC 2014 (Sydney, Australia) 10–14 June 2014
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Fulvio Babich

University of Trieste
Trieste, Italy

babich@units.it

Bechir Hamdaoui
Oregon State University
USA

hamdaoui@eecs.oregonstate.edu

Huaiyu Dai
North Carolina State University
USA

huaiyu_dai@ncsu.edu


Globecom 2013 (Atlanta, GA, USA) 9–13 December 2013
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Nallanthan Arumugam

King’s College
London, UK

arumugam.nallanathan@kcl.ac.uk

Sang Wu Kim
Iowa State University
USA

swkim@iastate.edu

Lian Zhao
Ryerson University
Canada

lzhao@ee.ryerson.ca


ICC 2013 (Budapest, Hungary) 9–13 June 2013
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs David Gesbert

EURECOM
France

gesbert@eurecom.fr

Angel Lozano
Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Spain

angel.lozano@upf.edu

Velio Tralli
University of Ferrara
Italy

vtralli@ing.unife.it

 

Sennur Ulukus
University of Maryland
USA
ulukus@umd.edu


Globecom 2012 (Anaheim, California, USA) 3–7 December 2012
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Erik Perrins

University of Kansas
U.S.A

esp@ku.edu

Cheng Li

Memorial University of Newfoundland
Canada

licheng@mun.ca

Hyundong Shin
Kyung Hee University
Korea

hshin@khu.ac.kr


ICC 2012 (Ottawa, Canada) 10–15 June 2012
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Jeff Andrews

University of Texas at Austin
U.S.A

jandrews@ece.utexas.edu

Martin Haenggi

University of Notre Dame
U.S.A

mhaenggi@nd.edu

Wei Yu

University of Toronto
Canada

weiyu@comm.utoronto.ca

Min Chen

Seoul National University
Korea

minchen@ieee.org


GLOBECOM 2011 (Houston, Texas, USA) 4–8 December 2011
Call for Papers
Paper submissions via EDAS
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Riccardo Raheli

University of Parma
Italy

raheli@unipr.it

Ali Ghrayeb

Concordia University
Canada

aghrayeb@ece.concordia.ca

Zhi (Gerry) Tian

Michigan Technology University
U.S.A.

ztian@mtu.edu

Qinqing Zhang

Johns Hopkins University
U.S.A.

Qinqing@ieee.org


ICC 2011 (Kyoto, Japan) 5–9 June 2011
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Marco Chiani

University of Bologna
Italy

marco.chiani@unibo.it

Matthew C. Valenti

West Virginia University
U.S.A.

mvalenti@wvu.edu

Tomoaki Ohtsuki

Keio University
Japan

ohtsuki@ics.keio.ac.jp

Wei Zhang (WC representative)

The University of New South Wales
Australia

w.zhang@unsw.edu.au

Committee Representative to Wireless Communications Symposium Ashutosh Sabharwal

Rice University
U.S.A.


GLOBECOM 2010 (Miami, Florida, USA) 6–10 December 2010
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Shuguang (Robert) Cui

Dept of ECE, Texas A&M University
College Station, TX, 77843
U.S.A.

cui@ece.tamu.edu

Michael Rice

Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah 84602
U.S.A.

mdr@byu.edu

Vahid Tarokh

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Cambridge, MA 02138
U.S.A.

vahid@seas.harvard.edu


ICC 2010 (Cape Town, South Africa) 23–27 May 2010
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Daniela Tuninetti

University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, IL 60607-7053
U.S.A.

daniela@ece.uic.edu

Holger Boche

Technische Universität Berlin
10587 Berlin
Germany

holger.boche@mk.tu-berlin.de

Guosen Yue

NEC Laboratories America, Inc.
Princeton, NJ
U.S.A.

yueg@nec-labs.com


GLOBECOM 2009 (Honolulu, Hawaii, USA) 30 November–4 December 2009
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Mérouane Debbah

SUPELEC
Plateau de Moulon
3 rue Joliot-Curie, Bureau 5-24
91192 GIF SUR YVETTE CEDEX, France

Merouane.debbah@supelec.fr

Elza Erkip

Polytechnic Institute of NYU

Department of Electrical Engineering
Five Metrotech Center
Brooklyn, NY 11201

elza@poly.edu

Syed Ali Jafar

Henry Samueli School of Engineering
University of California, Irvine
616E, Engineering Tower
Irvine, CA 92697-2625

syed@uci.edu

Lars K. Rasmussen

KTH, Royal Institute of Technology
School of Electrical Engineering
Communication Theory Laboratory
Osquldas väg 10, 4th floor
SE-100 44 Stockholm, Sweden

Lars.Rasmussen@ieee.org

Committee Representative to Wireless Communications Symposium

ICC 2009 (Dresden, Germany) 14–18 June 2009
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Aylin Yener

Department of Electrical Engineering
Pennsylvania State University

121 Electrical Engineering East

University Park, PA 16802

yener@ee.psu.edu

Lutz Lampe

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

2332 Main Mall

Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z4, Canada

lampe@ece.ubc.ca

Angela Zhang

Department of Information Engineering

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Shatin, New Territories, Hong Kong

yjzhang@ie.cuhk.edu.hk

Committee Representative to Wireless Communications Symposium Erik Perrins

Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
University of Kansas

2020 Eaton Hall, 1520 West 15th St.

West Lawrence, KS 66045 USA

esp@eecs.ku.edu


GLOBECOM 2008 (New Orleans, LA) 30 November–4 December 2008
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Hesham El-Gamal

Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
205 Dreese Labs; 2015 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
helgamal@ece.osu.edu

Tie Liu
Deptartment of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Texas A&M University
TAMU 3128
College Station, TX 77845
tieliu@ece.tamu.edu

Committee Representative to General Conference

ICC 2008 (Beijing, China) 19–23 May 2008
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Norman Beaulieu

Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2G7

beaulieu@ee.ualberta.ca

Shuguang (Robert) Cui

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

1230 E Speedway Blvd, Room 321

University of Arizona

Tucson, AZ 85721

cui@ece.arizona.edu

Tiffany Jing Li

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Lehigh University

Bethlehem, PA 18015

jingli@ece.lehigh.edu

Committee Representative to General Conference

GLOBECOM 2007 (Washington, DC) 26–30 November 2007
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Amir Banihashemi

Dept. of Systems and Computer Engineering

1125 Colonel By Drive
Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, Canada
ahashemi@sce.carleton.ca

Sennur Ulukus
Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
ulukus@umd.edu

Committee Representative to General Conference David Love

School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Purdue University

EE Building, 465 Northwestern Ave.

West Lafayette, IN 47907

djlove@ecn.purdue.edu


ICC 2007 (Glasgow, Scotland) 24–28 June 2007
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Peter McLane

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Walter Light Hall
Queen’s University
Kingston, Ontario, K7L 3N6
Canada
peter.mclane@queensu.ca

Murat Uysal
Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engr.
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, Ontario, N2L 3G1, Canada
Tel: (519) 888 4567 (ext. 6988)
Fax: (519) 746 3077
muysal@ece.uwaterloo.ca

Committee Representative to General Conference Rohit Negi

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Carnegie Mellon University

5000 Forbes Ave.

Pittsburgh, PA 15213

negi@ece.cmu.edu


GLOBECOM 2006 (San Francisco, California) 27 November–1 December, 2006
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Hamid Jafarkhani

The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science zotcode 2625
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-2625

hamidj@uci.edu

Erchin Serpedin

Department of Electrical Engineering
Room 237-F , WERC
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843-3128
Phone: (979) 458-2287
FAX: (979) 862-4630

serpedin@ee.tamu.edu

Committee Representative to General Conference Tiffany Jing Li
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Lehigh University
Bethlehem, PA 18015

jingli@ece.lehigh.edu


ICC 2006 (Istanbul, Turkey) 11–15 June, 2006
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Prof. Sergio Benedetto (Chair)
Dipartimento di Elettronica
Politecnico di Torino, Italy
E-mail: benedetto@polito.it 

Prof. Ender Ayanoglu
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of California
Irvine, CA 92697-2625 USA
E-mail: ender@ieee.org

Dr. Sedat Oelcer
IBM Zurich Research Laboratory
CH-8803 Rueschlikon, Switzerland
Email: oel@zurich.ibm.com 

Prof. Bane Vasic
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Email: vasic@ece.arizona.edu


GLOBECOM 2005 (St. Louis, Missouri) 28 November–2 December, 2005
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Prof. Chintha Tellambura
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2V4 Canada
Office: W2-080 ECERF Building
Phone: +1 780 492 7228
Fax: +1 780 492 1811
Email: chintha@ee.ualberta.ca

Prof. Sarah Kate Wilson
Department of Signals, Sensors and Systems
Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)
SE-100 44 Stockholm, Sweden
Tel: +46 (8) 790 8413
Fax: +46 (8) 790 72 60
E-mail: katie@s3.kth.se

Committee Representative to General Conference Prof. Michael Rice
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT, 84602
Tel: (801) 422-4469
Fax: (801) 422-0201
E-mail: mdr@ee.byu.edu

ICC 2005 (Seoul, Korea) 15–19 May 2005
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Prof. Fulvio Babich
Department of Elettrotecnica Elettronica Informatica
University of Trieste
34127 Trieste, Italy
Tel: +39-040-5587146
Fax: +39-040-5583460
E-mail: babich@univ.trieste.it

Prof. Tolga Duman
Dept. of Electrical Engineering
Telecommunications Research Center
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287-7206
Tel : (480) 965-7888
Fax : (480) 965-8325
Email: duman@asu.edu

Committee Representative to General Conference Prof. Rohit Neji
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Tel: (412) 268-6264
Fax: (412) 268-6345
E-mail: negi@ece.cmu.edu

GLOBECOM 2004 (Dallas, Texas) 29 November–3 December 2004
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Prof. Naofal Al-Dhahir
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Texas at Dallas
E-mail: aldhahir@utdallas.edu

Prof. Len Cimini
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716, USA
Tel: (302) 831-4943
E-mail: cimini@ece.udel.edu

Prof. Dennis L. Goeckel
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Massachusetts
Office: 215F Marcus Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-3514
email: goeckel@ecs.umass.edu

Prof. Brian Hughes
Center for Advanced Computing and Communication
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7914
Voice: 919-513-1798
Fax: 919-515-2285
Email: blhughes@eos.ncsu.edu


ICC 2004 (Paris, France) 20–24 June 2004
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Prof. Moe Win Laboratory for Information & Decision Systems (LIDS)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Room 35-211
Cambridge, MA 02139
Tel: (617) 253-9341
Fax: (617) 253-3578
E-mail: moewin@mit.edu
E-mail: win@ieee.org

Dr. Stefan Kaiser
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Institute of Communications and Navigation
82234 Wessling, Germany Tel: +49 8153 28-2805
Fax: +49 8153 28-1442
E-mail: stefan.kaiser@dlr.de


GLOBECOM 2003 (San Francisco, California) 1–5 December 2003
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Prof. Alexander M. Haimovich
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
NJIT
Newark, New Jersey, USA
Tel: +1 (973) 596-3534
Fax: +1 (973) 596-5680
E-mail: haimovic@njit.edu

Prof. Helmut Boelcskei
Communication Technology Laboratory
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich
Sternwartstr. 7, CH-8092 Zuerich
Switzerland
Tel: +41 1 63 23433
Fax: +41 1 63 21209
E-Mail: boelcskei@nari.ee.ethz.ch


ICC 2003 (Anchorage, Alaska) 12–16 May 2003)
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Prof. Steven W. McLaughlin
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Georgia Tech
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Tel: +1 (404) 894-6617
Fax: +1 (404) 894-7883
E-mail: swm@ece.gatech.edu

Prof. Urbashi Mitra
Department of Electrical Engineering
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (213) 740-4667
E-mail: ubli@ceng.usc.edu

Committee Representatives to General Conference Prof. Moe Win
Laboratory for Information & Decision Systems (LIDS)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Room 35-211
Cambridge, MA 02139
Tel: (617) 253-9341
Fax: (617) 253-3578
E-mail: moewin@mit.edu
E-mail: win@ieee.org

Prof. Tolga M. Duman
Department of Electrical Engineering
Telecommunications Research Center
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287-7206
Tel: (480) 965-7888
Fax: (480) 965-8325
Email: duman@asu.edu


GLOBECOM 2002 (Taipei, Taiwan) 17–21 November 2002
Communication Theory Symposium Co-Chairs Prof. Richard Wesel
7440D Boelter Hall
Department of Electrical Engineering
University of California, Los Angeles
Box 951594
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1594
Tel: (310) 267-2150
Fax: (310) 794-1592
E-mail: wesel@ee.ucla.edu

Prof. Keith Chugg
Department of Electrical Engineering
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (213)740-7294
E-mail: chugg@milly.usc.edu


ICC 2002 (New York City, New York)  28 April–2 May, 2002
Communication Theory Symposium Chair Dr. Hikmet Sari
Pacific Broadband Coomunications
4-14 rue Ferrus
75683 Paris Cedex 14
France
Tel: +33 1 58 10 12 02
Fax: +33 1 58 10 12 14
sari@pbc.com

GLOBECOM 2001 (San Antonio, Texas) 25–29 November 2001
Communication Theory Symposium Chair Prof. Costas Georghiades
Department of Electrical Engineering
Texas A&M University
237C Wisenbaker Research Center
College Station, Texas 77843
Tel: +1 (979) 845-7408
Fax: +1 (979) 845-6259
georghia@ee.tamu.edu
Committee Representatives to General Conference Dr. Ayman F. Naguib
Morphics, Inc.
1550 S. Bascom Avenue, Suite 200
Campbell, CA 95008-0638
naguib@morphics.com

Dr. Apostolis Salkintzis
National Observatory of Athens
Institute for Space Applications and Remote Sensing
Metaxa & Vas. Pavlou
GR-15236 Palea Penteli
Athens, Greece
salki@space.noa.gr

Prof. Kwang-Cheng Chen
Institute of Communications Engineering
College of Electrical Engineering
National Taiwan University
Taipei, Taiwan 10617
Tel: +886 2 2363 5251 ext. 246
Fax: +886 2 2368 3824
chenkc@cc.ee.ntu.edu.tw


ICC 2001(Helsinki, Finland) 11–15 June 2001
Communication Theory Symposium General Chair

Communication Theory Symposium Technical Program Chair

Prof. Sergio Benedetto
Politecnico di Torino
Dipartimento di Elettronica
Corso Duca degli Abruzzi, 24
Torino, Italy
Tel: +39 011 564 4031
Fax: +39 011 564 4099
benedetto@polito.it

Prof. Khaled Ben Letaif
Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Clear Water Bay, Kowloon
HONG KONG
Tel: +852 2358 7064
Fax: +852 2358 1485
eekhaled@ee.ust.hk

Committee Representatives to General Conference Prof. Ramjee Prasad
Aalborg University
Frederik Bajers Vej 7 A5
9220 Aalborg st, Denmark
Tel: +45 9635 8671
Fax: +45 9815 1583
prasad@cpk.auc.dk

Prof. Sundanshu Shekhar Jamuar
Aalborg University
Frederik Bajers Vej 7 A5
9220 Aalborg st, Denmark
Tel: +45 9635 8671
Fax: +45 9815 1583
ssjamuar@cpk.auc.dk


GLOBECOM 2000 (San Francisco, California) 27 November–1 December 2000
Communication Theory Symposium General Chair

Communication Theory Symposium Technical Program Chair

Prof. Andrea Goldsmith
Packard 371
Department of Electrical Engineering
Mail Code 9515
Stanford, CA 94305-9515
Phone: 650 725 6932
Fax: 650 723 9251
andrea@ee.stanford.edu

Dr. Moe Z. Win
AT&T Labs – Research
200 S. Laurel Avenue, A5-1B04
Middletown, NJ 07748
Tel: (732) 420-9016
Fax: (732) 368-9422
win@research.att.com

Committee Representative to General Conference Dr. George Chrisikos
gchrisikos@ieee.org