Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC) ICC 2011, Kyoto, Japan 6 June 2011

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- 1. The meeting minutes from the Globecom 2010 meeting were approved.
- 2. ICC 2011, Globecom 2011, ICC 2012, CTW 2011, and CTW 2012 reports were given.
- 3. Modifications to the Policies and Procedures document were approved. The changes define new awards sponsored by the CTTC.
- 4. There is an immediate need for a proposal for CTW 2013. Please contact Robert Heath (rheath@ece.utexas.edu).

DETAILED MINUTES

Meeting called to order at 5:30 PM Robert Heath, Chair, conducting

BUSINESS

1. R. Heath (quickly and briefly) reviewed the minutes from the Globecom 2010 CTTC meeting. J. Andrews made a motion to approve the minutes; A. Yener seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved.

REPORTS

- 1. ICC 2011: M. Valenti reported that 261 papers were reviewed by the CTS TPC. 100 papers were accepted (38%) and placed in 17 oral sessions and 1 poster session. Due to the unusual circumstances, several session chairs had to be replaced. The session chair assignments were reviewed and replacement assignments were made. There was a session called "Signal Processing for Communications." M. Valenti was asked if the Signal Processing for Communications Symposium had a session entitled "Communication Theory." M. Valenti explained that the authors select the symposium at submission; he (Valenti) reviewed the submissions and identified those that did not fit in the CTS. This is not always done.
- 2. GC 2011: R. Raheli reported that 186 papers were submitted to the CTS. There were 97 CTS TPC members. Notice of acceptance will be given on 1 July 2011 with final papers due 1 August 2011. The target acceptance rate is 35%. The CTS recommends $67\sim75$ papers be accepted. He noted that some good papers will wind up being rejected. Curiously, there was no GC 2011 meeting at ICC 2011.
- 3. ICC 2012: M. Haenggi reported that 86 TPC members are in place for the CTS. 6 Sept 2011 is the current acceptance deadline.
- 4. CTW 2011: M. Juntti reported that all is set for CTW 2011 in two weeks (20-22 June 2011), Sitges, Catalonia, Spain. Following the tradition, there are 5 technical sessions and 1 poster session. There are currently 76 registrants.
- 5. CTW 2012: R. Heath (for M. Honig and R. Berry) reported that the venue (Sheraton Kaanapali in Maui, Hawaii) is set. The workshop will be 14-16 May 2012. The registration will be \$600.00 US. The TPC is Venu Veeravali.

MORE BUSINESS

- 1. R. Heath noted that volunteers for the organizing CTW 2013 are needed and asked those who might be interested to contact him (rheath@ece.utexas.edu). There is a preference to hold CTW 2013 in eastern North America (say, in the Caribbean) given the tradition.
- 2. J. Andrews quickly reviewed the CTW evaluation criteria and the submission process.
- 3. R. Heath presented proposed changes to the Policies and Procedures. The proposals were
- 3-1. The addition of a new award, the CTTC Technical Achievement Award.
- 3-2. The addition of a new award, the CTTC Young Achievement Award.
- 3-3. The awards will be presented at ICC, Globecom, or CTW as requested by the recipient.
- 3-4. At most 2 of each award will be given each year.

The ensuing discussion focused on item 3-2 with particular focus on what word "Young" modified. Three alternatives were suggested:

- "Young Researcher Award"
- "Early Career Award"
- "Early Achievement Award"

Votes were taken with the following results: Young Researcher Award (2), Early Career Award (7),

Early Achievement Award (13), current wording (1).

- R. Heath modified the Policies and Procedures document. J. Andrews put for the motion to accept the modified Policies and Procedures document. R. Adve seconded the motion. The modified Policies and Procedures document was unanimously accepted.
- 4. R. Heath discussed ways committee members could be involved.
- Service on the ICC/Globecom CTS TPC or as CTS chair
- Organize at CTW
- Service on internal CTTC committees
- Make recommendations for CTTC awards.
- 5. The passing of Are Hjorungnes was noted. R. Heath and J. Andrews shared some thoughts.
- 6. The meeting was adjourned at 6:22.

Minutes taken by Michael Rice Attendance: 39

Attendance List

Huaiya Dai Sennur Ulukus Alberto Rabbachin Yuan Shen Jenk Wymeersch Martin Haenggi Ravi Adve Neelesh Mehta Jack Winters Chintha Tellambura Luc Deneire Witold Krzymien Xiaoli Chu Ismail Gurenc Anthony Soong Pooi-Yuen Kam Xianbin Wang Fulvio Babich Michael Rice Robert Heath Min Chen Matthew McKay Iain Collings Joonsuk Kim Greg Durgin Katie Wilson Alexandre Graell i Amat Wan Choi Hyuncheol Park Marco Chiani Leszek Szczecinski Markku Juntti Aylin Yener Angel Lozano Jeff Andrews Matt Valenti Gerhard Fettweis Kwang-Cheng Chen

Riccardo Raheli